love language
Love,  Relationships

Knowing your Love Language Improve your Relationship

Knowing your partner’s love language can improve your relationship and strengthen your bond.

The love languages is a concept made known by author Gary Chapman in his book The Five Love Languages.

Communication issues in relationships are often caused by not understanding how your partner receives and gives love. It’s important to know each other’s love language. As a result, you get to know how to meet their needs.

Disclosure: Please note that this post may contain affiliate links and if you go through them to make a purchase I will earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You can get the The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts Here

We all experience love in different ways. When you know your love language and your partners, it brings more understanding to how you love. It’s important for your partner to also know your love language.

Take this quiz to learn more about your love language.

Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation are more than ‘sweet nothings’ to your partner if this their primary love language. Compliments are how your partner feels loved. They want to hear you say good, positive words to them and about them.

Equally, hurtful words will cause more damage than you can imagine. They will hold on to the negative words and dwell on them for a long time to come. It is extremely hurtful to them when you don’t positively affirm them.

Acts of Service

Actions speak louder than words for your partner. They appreciate you helping out more around the house and showing your love. Taking the load off on some things means you love them.

It’s easy for your partner to feel unappreciated if you don’t do little things for your partner with this love language. Your partner will appreciate you more for doing things from your heart and not because you feel obligated to.

These acts of service don’t have to be grand. It can be a simple task like doing the dishes, changing the light bulb or cooking a meal for your partner.

Receiving Gifts

A good gesture brings joy. It’s the thought that counts more than just material things. Getting little gifts from the heart are the way your partner feels most loved.

The gift can be a small token of your love that has special meaning to your partner or memory you both share. The effort and time taken to get something will melt your partner’s heart.

You may also like: Habits of Happy Couples

Quality Time

Spending time with your partner will mean more than you’ll ever know. If your partners love language is quality time, it means they value the time spent with you more than anything.

You may mistake this love language as being clingy or needy. However, they just love your presence and attention. It shows you care about them and appreciate having them in your life.

Quality time is not just about being physically present, but also being emotionally and mentally present for your partner.

Physical Touch

If your partners love language falls in this section, they love holding hands, long hugs and intimacy. It might seem more on the PDA side of things. But touch is worth a thousand words for your partner who receives love physically.

You need to be gentle and reciprocate your partner’s gestures, otherwise they may feel neglected and disconnected. Physical touch is not all about sex. It is more about the connection and closeness.


You and your partner must be open to each other. Have those conversations, even if it feels uncomfortable. This helps avoid disappointment and unrealistic expectations.

Put in a little more effort to show your partner you care by doing the things they will appreciate more. I hope you’ve taken the love language quiz so you better understand your love language.

Relationships go through a lot of changes along the way. It’s important to keep the love going strong. Communication and understanding each other are key.

Here’s to many more happy loving years. To you and yours!

Love, Everyday


Sharing is caring


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *